Last chance to vote for your NPDC Mayor and Councillors

Local News Our Work Featured news People Have Your Say

If you want to have your say on who will make big picture decisions on the future of the New Plymouth district, you have until 12pm Saturday to vote in this year’s local government elections.

If extending the Coastal Walkway, fixing the district’s plumbing, investing in our environment and for our kids, is important to you, this is the chance to help guide those decisions by having a say on who will be the Mayor, Councillors and Community Board members for the next three years. 

“NPDC has a budget of around $185 million and manages our $3.5 billion in assets across 16 business activities so it’s important residents think about who they want sitting around the table to represent them and the only way to influence that is to vote,” said NPDC Marketing, Communications and Design Lead Ben Kohlis.

“We have ballot boxes at eleven NPDC venues across the district including a drive-through ballot box planned at the council office in Liardet Street, New Plymouth Saturday 9am-12pm. If you haven’t got your voting papers or made a mistake, come in the council office with photo ID or phone 0800 922 822 to make a special vote.”

If you need to know more about the candidates, their views on certain topics or any other information, including a video of how the STV voting system works, head to our elections website

Ballot boxes are located at these NPDC sites until 12 noon on Saturday 8 October (12 noon):​

  • NPDC Civic Centre, open Monday to Friday 8am – 5pm​ and Saturday 9am - 12pm
  • Ōākura Library, open Friday 11am – 5pm, Saturday 9am – 1pm​
  • Puke Ariki Library, open Monday – Friday 9am – 6pm, Saturday and Sunday 9am – 5pm​
  • Puke Ariki Museum, open Monday – Sunday 10am – 5pm​
  • Waitara Library and Service Centre, open Monday, Wednesday, Friday 9am – 5pm, Tuesday & Thursday 9am – 6pm, Saturday 9am – 12noon​
  • Inglewood Library, open Monday, Tuesday and Thursday 9am – 5pm, Wednesday and Friday 9am – 6pm, Saturday 9am – 12noon​
  • Bell Block Library, open Monday, Wednesday & Friday 9am - 5pm, Tuesday, Thursday 9am – 6pm, Saturday 9am – 12noon​
  • Urenui Library, open Tuesday 9am- 2pm, Friday 12noon – 4pm​
  • TSB Showplace, open Monday - Friday 9am - 4pm.​
  • Todd Energy Aquatic Centre, open Monday - Friday 5:30am - 8:15pm, weekends and public holidays 7am - 6:45pm​
  • Govett-Brewster Art Gallery, open Monday – Sunday 10am – 5pm​.

The positions voters will decide:​

  • NP District Mayor​​
  • Six Councillors in Kaitake/Ngāmotu ward (for voters in on the role in New Plymouth city to Ōkato)​​
  • One Councillor in North Ward (Waitara up to Waitomo District Council border)​​​
  • One Councillor in the Te Purutanga Mauri Pūmanawa (Māori ward)​​​
  • Five district wide councillors. (These councillors would represent the whole district)​​
  • Four positions on each of the Inglewood, Kaitake, Waitara and Puketapu-Bell Block community boards.​​

By the numbers:​

  • 77 nominations received for the 2022 election​​
  • 4 candidates are running for both mayor and a councillor role​​
  • 2 people running for our first Māori ward Councillor​​
  • 58 - the number of candidates in the 2019 local body election​​
  • 3% voter turnout in 2019​​


  • 8 October at 12 noon: Voting closes midday​​​
  • 8 October from 12 noon: Preliminary results​​​
  • 13 – 19 October: Declaration of results.​


Caption: Janet Le-Breton lodges her vote at the NPDC office this morning.