Tūtaki mai ki ngā Kaitono

Know your candidates

Candidates are taking a stand across all wards and community boards for New Plymouth District Council in this year’s local body election. Nominations closed at midday on Friday 12 August and you can find out more about the candidates below.

We offered all the candidates the chance to have their say on the big issues in the district. Below are their responses in their words as they sent them to us. Some chose not to respond. 

Voting packs will start to arrive in the post between Friday 16 September 2022 and Wednesday 21 September 2022. 

Councillors at-large map

Councillors at-large

(across the whole district)

Kaitake-Ngāmotu General Ward

(New Plymouth city to Ōkato)​

Kōhanga Moa General Ward

(Inglewood and surrounding area)

North General Ward

(Waitara up to Waitomo District Council border)​

Clifton Community Boards Map

Clifton Community Board

(Tikorangi, Urenui, Ōnaero, Tongaporutu)

Inglewood Community Board Map

Inglewood Community Board

(Inglewood, Egmont Village, Tarata)

Kaitake Community Board Map

Kaitake Community Board

(Ōākura, Ōmata, Ōkato)​

Notice of Elections and Candidates