Whare tuku iho

Heritage buildings, items and character areas

Heritage items are those places or things that are significant to us because of their links to the past

The Operative District Plan 2005 and Proposed District Plan – Appeals Version 2023 contain provisions to protect identified built historic heritage features, including buildings, items and character areas.   

Heritage Building

Types of heritage buildings, items and areas

The Operative District Plan 2005 identifies three categories of heritage buildings, items and areas: Category A, B and C.  

Only category A buildings, items and areas are subject to heritage related rules in the Operative District Plan.  Category B and C are not regulated.  Category A heritage buildings, items and areas are listed in Appendix 8: Heritage Buildings and Items. 

The exteriors of all category A buildings and items are protected. Exterior work to the same design and using similar materials is permitted. Work that is not in character will require resource consent. Demolition or removal, and subdivision of land with a category A building, item or area on it will require resource consent. 

A specific rule applies to the erection of buildings on the same site as the following buildings: 

  • 37A Cameron Street, New Plymouth. 
  • 84, 90, 94, 98 and 102 Pendarves Street, New Plymouth. 


Specific parts of the interiors of these buildings are protected: 

  • Hurworth Cottage, 906 Carrington Road, New Plymouth. 
  • New Plymouth Opera House (TSB Showplace), 94-96 Devon St West, New Plymouth. 
  • Plas Mawr, 26 Standish Street, New Plymouth. 
  • Pridham Hall, 103 Eliot Street, New Plymouth. 
  • St Mary’s Church, 37 Vivian Street, New Plymouth. 
  • The Camp House, Egmont Road, Inglewood. 
  • The Gables, Brooklands Park Drive, New Plymouth. 
  • White Hart Hotel, 124 Devon St West, New Plymouth. 


Historic Heritage

The Proposed District Plan – Appeals Version 2023 includes three schedules related to Historic Heritage: 

  • SCHED1 – Schedule of Heritage Buildings and Items.  This lists over 140 buildings and items. A mapped extent is shown on the planning maps to provide for the setting around them. 
  • SCHED2 – Schedule of Heritage Buildings (Interior Elements).  This lists eight buildings in Schedule 1 that have some, or all, of their interior elements protected.  
  • SCHED11 – Schedule of Heritage Character Areas.  This lists heritage character areas that typically contain a concentration of heritage buildings, as well as contributory buildings that add visual interest or play an important role in the historic character of the area, but which are not of sufficient individual importance to warrant being scheduled as heritage buildings.  

Rules within the Historic Heritage Chapter of the Proposed District Plan – Appeals Version 2023 apply to the buildings, items and character areas listed in the above schedules. These rules manage activities on and around buildings and items such as heritage upgrade works, alterations and additions, subdivision and total or partial demolition. 

Retention of heritage values is encouraged through eligibility for contestable funding from the Council’s Built, Cultural Heritage Protection Fund and Natural Heritage Protection Fund. 


  • In addition to these planning requirements, there may also be requirements under the Building Act or other legislation such as the Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga Act 2014.