Roads outside schools

Recognising that traffic outside our schools is hectic around opening and closing times, Council has adopted a series of variable and permanent speed limits. Reducing speed limits is proven to reduce the number of crashes as well as the consequences of injury.

Variable 30km/h speed limits are planned for the following schools (50km/h at other times):

Francis Douglas Memorial College

Frankley School

Highlands Intermediate

Lepperton School

Mangorei School

New Plymouth Girls' High School

St Joseph's School (Waitara)

Vogeltown School

Waitara High School

Welbourn School

Woodleigh School

Permanent 30km/h speed limits are planned for the following schools:

Bell Block School

Central School Te Kura Waenga O Ngamotu

Coastal Taranaki School

Egmont Village School

Fitzroy School

Huirangi School

Inglewood School

Inglewood High School

Manukorihi Intermediate

Marfell School

Merrilands School

Moturoa School

Norfolk School

Oakura School

Puketapu School (New Plymouth)

Sacred Heart Girls' College (New Plymouth)

St Joseph's School (New Plymouth)

St Patrick's School (Inglewood)

St John Bosco School (New Plymouth)

St Pius X School (New Plymouth)

Tikorangi School

Urenui School

Waitara Central School

Waitara East School

West End Te Kura O Morere

Westown School

Permanent 60km/h speed limits are planned for the following schools:

Kaimata School

Mimi School

Ratapiko School

Uruti School

Waitoriki School